Families In Transition

Since 1992 Families In Transition has been serving members of Santa Cruz County by providing temporary rental assistance and case management to families who are homeless or at imminent risk of becoming homeless.

Our case managers work closely with program participants to identify barriers to housing and come up with individualized housing stability plans to ensure client success.

 
OUR MISSION STATEMENT

To join with other service providers in a community-wide effort to end and prevent
homelessness in Santa Cruz County. Toward this end, Families In Transition works in partnership with families who are homeless with housing opportunities and by providing participants with referrals to employment, training and educational resources to assist them in becoming both self-reliant and interdependent members of the community.

 
OUR STAFF

      Melisa Vierra

               

                  Executive Director

             melisa@fitsantacruz.org

                    (831)728-2548

        Irma Perez

               

           Direct Services Supervisor

              irma@fitsantacruz.org

                    (831)728-9792

  Claudia sanchez

               

                 Senior Case Manager

claudia@fitsantacruz.org

(831)786-0443

    Ariana Martin

               

              Administrative Director

              ariana@fitsantacruz.org

                     (831)794-1097

   Karina moreno

            

               Resource Development Coordinator

              karina@fitsantacruz.org

                       (831)707-5584

      Huyana Garcia

               

                  Senior Case Manager

              huyana@fitsantacruz.org

                      (831)406-3738

      Eriqa Murillo

             

                     Fiscal Director

              eriqa@fitsantacruz.org

                   (831)498-3776

    Liz Martinez

               

              Senior Case Manager 

               liz@fitsantacruz.org

                   (831)707-6010

  

               

                        Case Manager

              melenise@fitsantacruz.org

                      (831)998-5294

 Melenise Espindola

      Adriana Torres

               

                 CHAMP Case Manager

                adriana@fitsantacruz.org

                       (831)740-9910

Guillermo Ornellas

               

              CHAMP Case Manager

          guillermo@fitsantacruz.org

                  (831)288-4388

  Mandy Cabanlit

               

                        Peer Navigator

               mandy@fitsantacruz.org

                      (831)786-6847

               

      Housing DevelopmentCoordinator

                cristian@fitsantacruz.org

                       (831)288-4288

    Cristian Magana

          Erik Lua

               

           CHAMP Housing Navigator

                erik@fitsantacruz.org

                       (831)740-7340

        Eddie Ruiz

               

         CHAMP Housing Navigator

             eddie@fitsantacruz.org

                       (831)786-6461

PARTICIPANT SUCCESS STORIES

Daniel was a young man who suddenly became the sole guardian of his infant daughter when the baby’s mother abandoned her. Daniel had been a full-time student barely scraping by doing odd-jobs, and sharing a home with multiple roommates. Desperate for a way to provide a stable home for his baby girl, Daniel was referred to Cal-WORK’s and the Housing Scholarship Program. He and his FIT Case Manager developed a plan that included housing assistance and modifying his educational program to obtain certification that would lead to employment within a year.  In order to increase his stability Daniel chose to share a home with another single parent he met at school. The Housing Scholarship Program subsidized Daniel’s share of the rent while he completed his training, and the two parents shared childcare duties to accommodate their busy schedules.

1 / 4

STAY UP TO DATE
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • instagram-logo-ywb

Mail: 406 Main St. #326 Watsonville, CA 95076 |  info@fitsantacruz.org  |  Tel. 831-728-9791